Cosplayer Hotspot: REIKA

5c838b66241e1ddb79bbde743d65e3f1417d3d4f-740

Reika as Jinguji Ren (Uta no Prince-sama 1000%)

Country: Japan

Gender: Female

Cosplay Profile: http://worldcosplay.net/member/87/

With the ability to make girls swoon with her handsome cosplays, Reika is my idol and whom I aspire to be as a future cosplayer. I started to read up on her when she was to be a guest at AFA 2012 and her cosplay of Jinguji Ren really impressed me. Now, as a hardcore fan I squeal, sigh and like every photo she releases on her profile. Reika does mostly male characters, her most recent one being Natsume Takashi from Natsume Yuujinchou.

6bff1648d2f317b1fdedde36d06ef273f86098fa-740

Reika as Natsume Takashi (Natsume Yuujinchou)

One thing that I like about her cosplays is her make-up. She doesn’t go overboard with the eye make-up which some cosplayers do. It sometimes results in a really girly guy and just looks like the cosplayer has put on make-up that suits their tastes rather than the image of the character. Of course there nothing wrong with that, just that preferably, I like cosplayers who try to look as much alike as the character. Reika’s incredible attention to detail in all of her costumes as well as her ability to capture the personality and attitude of the character is something which I admire as well. The way she styles her hair is a winner for me! Every time!😀

I first unknowingly came across her photo on Google Images when I was searching from Miketsukami Soushi (Inu x Boku SS) cosplays and I found a photo which I thought was the perfect portrayal of Miketsukami. From then on, I decided to use that image as a reference for the hair and make-up. Imagine the surprise when I found this photo on Reika’s profile! I was ecstatic to find the cosplayer which had won over my heart. With a photo count of 400 and ranked constantly in the top 5 on WorldCosplay, she is my greatest idol and mentor.

Miketsukami Soushi by Reika

Miketsukami Soushi

On that note, I shall leave you guys to be blown away at the perfectionism by Reika for the next 10 mins.

Disclaimer: These photos are all taken from worldcosplay.net and all credits go to the photographers and those involved in the process of these shoots.

One thought on “Cosplayer Hotspot: REIKA

  1. Pingback: CosTalk: Saffron (Hong Kong) | YvoonManga

Leave a Reply

